Tightrope Trapeze

When you broke the bottles
you broke my bones,
the words that never hurt me.
~
A ghost you could not see,
through your coloured glasses
of red and white.
~
I would have buried every
jaded bottle for you,
filling my childhood time.
~
Countless days like stars,
of unsung songs and promised
tales untold.
~
But don’t worry, I coloured you
into a world of rainbows and butterflies:
You were real to me.
~
It’s windy tonight…
Stars flickering in the breeze
on a tightrope trapeze,
perchance to fall
and wish as you please.
~
I could not help you,
with my broken bones,
and the words that never hurt me.

7 thoughts on “Tightrope Trapeze

  1. Miss Lou says:

    Beautifully wriiten. Thank you for sharing 🙂

  2. Doug S says:

    Deeply painful. Sorry I have been absent

Leave a Reply

