Giventake

My english isn’t great,
the only language I speak,
but I can sing ‘Kumbaya’,
and put every child in the house asleep.

I wonder at the Stars in the night,
what they see when they look down,
and how many little wishes,
that turn up with a frown.

My body lays like a corpse,
stretched deep into the Earth,
in the day the sun blissfully burns,
at night, water brings re-birth.

I give my soul to the world,
and watch love fall into the ground,
nothing is left behind,
not even a song that makes a sound.

Truly taken from truly given,
walking one foot of the same feet,
a joyful sorrowful love, and
english, is the only language I speak.

4 thoughts on “Giventake

  1. t h i n g s + f l e s h says:

    dear Tara, tell me please about this deeply honest poem, how it came to you … it is disarmingly beautiful. tony

  2. Gray Dawster says:

    What a lovely poem my friend 🙂

    Andro

Leave a Reply

