My Daughter’s We of the Wind

Yesturday,
my daughter was afraid of the wind,
it touched the leaves and broke the branches,
making the trunk of the tree bend.

It swayed back and forth, forth and back,
her hair curling, lips red, she said;
“Mommy I’m afraid, why is the tree moving that way?”

I took her in my lap,
big blue eyes, rosey cheek against mine.

We swayed back and forth, forth and back,
our hair curling, lips red, I said;
“Don’t worry, we are like the wind, it will soon blow away.”

Today,
my daughter isn’t afraid,
it didn’t touch the leaves or brake the branches,
making the trunk of the tree bend.

It was gone and we were still here,
with her saying;
“back and forth, forth and back.”

Oh, how I love you my sweet dear.

Leave a Reply

